What to read if you like: Netflix Edition // Crossover Recommendations

This is the second post in my Crossover Recommendations series. In this series, I pick shows, movies, music, etc and find book recommendations based on it. They are not going to be direct comparisons is what I find fun. Some might be obvious choices but others might seem completely different but really have similar themes that made me recommend them. You can read my first post “What to read if you like: Disney Edition” Here!

These recommendations will be based on shows I am familiar with and books I have read so they will usually be in the realm of YA.

So here are the recommendations!


Show: Marvel’s Jessica Jonesjessicajones_bonfire

Book Recommendation: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Jessica Jones is a Marvel show about a hard-drinking, ass-kicking woman who has superpowers but does not want to be called a hero! Jessica is rough around the edge, not the happiest person around and avoids her past, commitment, and most people. She is a private-detective and usually ends up going above and beyond to do her job.

Bonfire is a mystery/detective novel written by the actress who plays Jessica Jones! The main character also drinks a lot, avoids her past and is rough around the edges. She reminds me of Jessica just human and less of an asshole. I could honestly imagine Krysten Ritter playing this character as well to perfection! You can read my review of Bonfire HERE!

Should you ever go back?

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town’s most high-profile company and economic heart, Abby begins to find strange connections to Barrens’ biggest scandal from more than a decade ago involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her closest friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

Abby knows the key to solving any case lies in the weak spots, the unanswered questions. But as Abby tries to find out what really happened to Kaycee, she unearths an even more disturbing secret—a ritual called “The Game,” which will threaten the reputations, and lives, of the community and risk exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town of just five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of the question: can you ever outrun your past?

Show: Riverdale riverdale_morganvillevampires

Book Recommendation: The Morganville Vampires Series by Rachel Caine

Riverdale is a teenage mystery show based on the Archie Comics. Archie, Veronica, Betty, and Jughead are constantly trying to solve the town’s problems, usually while trying to avoid getting murdered. The town is constantly facing murderers, corrupt officials, gang wars and maniacal mobsters.

The Morganville Vampires is a book series about a town in Texas that is secretly run by Vampires. Claire Danvers and her group of misfits are constantly trying to solve the town’s problems while avoiding getting murdered! You can see why I thought this was a good recommendation! Claire also reminds me of Betty but smarter. Sometimes the town vampires are the villains and sometimes they are actually allies! I love this series.

College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don’t show many signs of life, but they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood. Will she be able to face the town’s terror or will she drown like everyone else?

Show: Gossip Girl gossipgirl_thousandthfloor

Book Recommendation: The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

Gossip Girl was a show about super-rich teenagers in Manhattan and their constant Drama.

The Thousandth Floor is also about super-rich teenagers in Manhattan and their Drama. BUT set in the year 2118 where Manhattan is one giant tower where the richer you are, the higher towards the top of the tower you are. They have special contacts that work as phones and hover cars but its still just classic teenage drama! Avery is 100% Serena Vanderwoodsen.

NEW YORK CITY AS YOU’VE NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE.

A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

WELCOME TO MANHATTAN, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. Everyone there wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

LEDA COLE’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

ERIS DODD-RADSON’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

RYLIN MYERS’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will this new life cost Rylin her old one?

WATT BAKRADI is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy for an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is AVERY FULLER, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Amid breathtaking advancement and high-tech luxury, five teenagers struggle to find their place at the top of the world. But when you’re this high up, there’s nowhere to go but down….

 

Show: The Good Place goodplace_elsewhere

Book Recommendation: Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

The Good Place is a relatively new show about what happens after you die, kind of. Eleanor wakes up in The Good Place (as in Heaven) after dying by rogue shopping cart outside the grocery store. The only problem is, She was a complete jerk and they got the wrong Eleanor!

Elsewhere is a bit of a stretch for a recommendation seeing as this book is kid-friendly while the Good Place is more adult orientated but the themes are the same. Elsewhere follows a teenager after she died and end up in the afterlife, It follows her “life” after death in the place known as Elsewhere. It’s very interesting, I read it originally in middle school and I still wish it had a sequel somehow.

Welcome to Elsewhere. It is warm, with a breeze, and the beaches are marvelous. It’s quiet and peaceful. You can’t get sick or any older. Curious to see new paintings by Picasso? Swing by one of Elsewhere’s museums. Need to talk to someone about your problems? Stop by Marilyn Monroe’s psychiatric practice.

Elsewhere is where fifteen-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she has died. It is a place so like Earth, yet completely different. Here Liz will age backward from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. But Liz wants to turn sixteen, not fourteen again. She wants to get her driver’s license. She wants to graduate from high school and go to college. And now that she’s dead, Liz is being forced to live a life she doesn’t want with a grandmother she has only just met. And it is not going well. How can Liz let go of the only life she has ever known and embrace a new one? Is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward?

This moving, often funny book about grief, death, and loss will stay with the reader long after the last page is turned.

 

Show: The Good Witch goodwitch_deadlysweet

Book Recommendation: The Spellwork Syndicate by Lola Dodge

The Good Witch is a cute hallmark show about a woman who is a mom, store owner, and witch! She doesn’t use any crazy magic but rather small charms and such to help out her friends and neighbors. She lives in a cute small town with quirky characters who have town events and cornfield mazes and have simple mundane problems. Its very cute and cozy and shows witches and witchcraft in a different light which I enjoy. It can be a little boring though if you are in the mood for action but if you need something really wholesome, I suggest it!

The Spellwork Syndicate while definitely not boring, is also about a witch! This series is a kind of cozy mystery series. Anise is a young adult witch who has always dreamed about going to culinary school and starting a magic bakery. She ends up working in her estranged aunt’s magical bakery but keeps getting in the middle of trouble. In the first book, witches from notable families are disappearing and she is afraid she might be next! This series gives me the same cozy witch feel but with added mystery and danger! You can read my review of the first book in the series, Deadly Sweet, Here!

Anise Wise loves three things: baking, potion making, and reading her spellbooks in blissful silence. She might not be the most powerful witch, but enchantment is a rare skill, and her ability to bake with magic is even rarer. Too bad no one wants witchcraft on their campus. Anise’s dream of attending pastry school crumbles with rejection letter after rejection letter.

Desperate to escape her dead-end future, Anise contacts the long-lost relative she’s not supposed to know about. Great Aunt Agatha owns the only magic bakery in the US, and she suddenly needs a new apprentice. Anise is so excited she books it to New Mexico without thinking to ask what happened to the last girl.

The Spellwork Syndicate rules the local witches in Taos, but as “accidents” turn into full-out attacks on Anise’s life, their promises to keep her safe are less and less reassuring. Her cranky bodyguard is doing his best, but it’s hard to fight back when she has no idea who’s the enemy. Or why she became their target.

If Anise can’t find and stop whoever wants her dead, she’ll be more toasted than a crème brûlée.

Who knew baking cakes could be so life or death?

 

What do you think about my choices? What is your favorite Netflix show? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

img_0036-3

10 thoughts on “What to read if you like: Netflix Edition // Crossover Recommendations

    • thebookbakery17 says:

      I definitely recommend all the shows i featured here. The Good Place is good if you want comedy and Riverdale is good if you need mystery and drama! I totally didnt pick books and show that matched like that! Thats so cool they did though. haha

      Like

  1. Laura Reads and Writes says:

    This was such an amazing post!!! Also, I love that you included The Morganville Vampires. It is such an underrated series in my opinion and I have never seen anyone else talk about it! I think I may be due for a reread now!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.